The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business with a participating state and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet. This includes ALL carriers – private, exempt, or for hire. Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies are also required to register and pay a fee unless they also operate as a motor carrier.

Fees collected from the UCR system will be used by the states to support its safety programs and USDOT officer training. The UCR system increases the number of fee-eligible transportation companies and its owned equipment but lowers the fee per company.

What is the UCR process and fee structure?

The process is very simple. Each company is required to pay its UCR fee with a base state (the state in which you reside primarily). If your base state does not participate in the program you are required to pay your UCR fee through a neighboring, participating state. Currently, the following states are not participating: Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Vermont, Wyoming and the District of Columbia.

Registration fees in 2019 are reduced by 18.62 percent to range from $62 for carriers with up to two trucks to $59,689 for carriers with more than 1,000 trucks. The reductions are between $11 and $10,282, based on the number of trucks in a fleet.

Your Fleet Size Fee Tier depends on the Number of Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV’s) owned or operated by exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder. Broker and Leasing Companies are required to pay the 0 – 2 fee tier. Trailers are NOT included in fleet size.

Carriers with between three and five trucks will pay $185; those with six to 20 trucks will pay $368; fleets with 21-100 trucks will pay $1,283; while trucking companies with between 101 and 1,000 trucks will pay $6,112 in 2019.

In 2020, the decrease from 2017’s registration level is 9.9 percent, which represents a reduction of between approximately $5 to $3,899 per trucking company. In this registration year, companies with one or two trucks will pay $68; those with three to five will pay $204; companies with between six and 20 trucks will pay $407; fleets with 21-100 trucks will pay $1,420; those with 101-1,000 trucks will pay $6,766; and fleets with 1,001 or more trucks will pay $66,072.

Under the UCR Plan and Agreement, a maximum amount of revenues that can be collected from carriers is established at $107.78 million by statute. Fees collected in 2017 exceeded this maximum by $7.3 million. The fee reductions for 2019 and 2020 are to ensure registration fees don’t exceed the maximum in the next two years.

The new fees went into effect Dec. 28. Registration for 2019 is available at, and it must be completed by April 1.

Leave a Reply